Hyundai goes even further with the 45 EV

Despite the vast range of hybrid and electric products Hyundai already offers, we’re on the verge of discovering an all-new electric vehicle: the 45 EV Concept. And it’s going to be incredible!

New because the technology has evolved. But what we really love about the Hyundai 45 EV is its retro style. It’s inspired by the 1974 Pony Concept. Just a tad over 74 years ago. Remember that the Pony was the first car produced and sold by Hyundai.

A certain revolution for the Hyundai 45 EV Concept

We believe that the working name of the 45 EV is also related to the numerous 45° angles found in its design. Nevertheless, we know that it’s a whole new world under the hood. Hyundai already offers electric vehicles that run on batteries, like the Ioniq Electric and the Kona Electric. There’s also a fuel cell format with the Nexo.

But this new SUV should be the manufacturer’s first vehicle based on a platform specifically designed for battery-operated electric vehicles. Dubbed E-GMP (Electric-Global Modular Platform), this platform will also be used by Kia and Genesis for their electric vehicles.

The Hyundai 45 EV will go far

We’re eager to see this vehicle—which may be renamed the Pony—come racing in, whether from the past or the future. Regardless of its name, the Hyundai 45 EV will certainly feature an astounding range. We’re talking more than 415 kilometers. That’s more than the comparably sized Kona.

Considering this charmed future and all of these beautiful promises, we can hardly wait to see this vehicle roaming our streets—this car that will bring back memories to those who knew the Pony in its infancy, a little over 45 years ago.

Hyundai va encore plus loin avec le 45 EV

Malgré la vaste gamme de produits hybrides et électriques que propose déjà Hyundai, nous voici sur le point de découvrir un tout nouveau véhicule électrique : le concept 45 EV. Et ce sera fabuleux.

Nouveau parce que la technologie a évolué. Mais ce qu’on aime, c’est le style rétro du Hyundai 45 EV. Il est inspiré du concept Pony de 1974. Il y a donc 45 ans, et des poussières. Rappelons-nous que Pony a été la première voiture produite et commercialisée par Hyundai.

Une certaine révolution pour le concept Hyundai 45 EV

On croit que le nom de projet du 45 EV est aussi en lien avec de nombreux angles à 45 degrés dans la conception. Mais néanmoins on sait que sous le capot, la nouveauté sera grande. Hyundai propose déjà des véhicules électriques sous la forme de batteries électriques avec son Ioniq Electric et sa Kona Electric. Il a aussi un format à pile à combustible avec le Nexo.

Mais le nouveau VUS devrait être le premier véhicule du constructeur basé sur une plate-forme conçue spécifiquement pour les voitures électriques à batterie. Appelée E-GMP (Electric-Global Modular Platform), la plate-forme sera également utilisée par Kia et Genesis pour leurs propres véhicules électriques.

Le Hyundai 45 EV ira loin

On a bien hâte de voir surgir, du passé, ou du futur, celui que l’on pourrait éventuellement rebaptiser le Pony. Mais le Hyundai 45 EV sera surtout doté, qu’importe son nom, d’une belle autonomie. On parle de plus de 415 kilomètres. C’est plus que le Kona de taille similaire.

Avec toutes ces belles promesses et ce futur enchanteur, on a bien hâte de voir déambuler sur nos routes cette voiture qui rappellera des souvenirs à ceux qui ont connu les premiers balbutiements de la Pony, il y a un peu plus de 45 ans.